The profile widget has different options.
You can choose to have the log-in form to show for logged out users or to hide the widget.
When enabled it will show notifications in your widget for new messages, replies, etc.
This is best shown with some screenshots below.
By default this option is off. Which means all links showing in the widget are from the user himself.
By turning the option on it would display the community links as well.